Kwara Gov sends list of 16 commissioners to House for confirmation

on   /   in News 9:28 pm   /   Comments

IIorin—GovERNOR AbdulFatah Ahmed of Kwara on Tuesday, presented a list of 16 nominees to the state House of Assembly for confirmation as commissioners.
The governor’s request was contained in a message read by the Speaker of the House,  Rasaw Atunwa, during plenary.

Ahmed said the request was in consonance with Section 192, Sub-section 125 of the 1999 Constitution as amended.
According to the message, the nominees are Mr Amos Aboyeji from Oyun Local Government Area; Alhaji Issa Kayode, Moro; Alhaji Aliu Mohammed, Asa; Alhaji Shaaba Umar, Edu; and Alhaji Abubakar Mora, Kaima.

Others are Mr Saheed Popoola from Offa; Dr Abubakar Kannike, IIorin East; Mr Bode Ogunleye, Ekiti; Alhaji Lade Mohammed, Patigi; Mr Olubode Olayemi, Ifelodun; Alhaji Abubakar Mora, Kaima, and Mr Abubakar Garba, Baruten.

Others are Mr Tunji Morofoye from Oyun; Hajia Ramata Abaya, Asa; Alhaji Saka Onimago, IIorin West, and Alhaji Tolagbe Alege, IIorin South.
The Speaker directed the nominees to submit their credentials to the Clerk of the House, Mr Oyetunde Oyeniyi, on or before Friday Jan. 31.

Atunwa announced that the screening of the nominees would commence on Feb. 1.
In another development, the governor on Tuesday presented two bills to the House for consideration and passage.
The two proposed laws are the Data Capturing of Landlords Agency Bill, and Environmental Protection Agency Bill.

    Print       Email