Jonathan appoints Gen. Gusau, Boni Haruna, Amb. Wali, Obanikoro, 8 others as ministers

on   /   in News 3:45 pm   /   Comments

ABUJA – PRESIDENT Goodluck Jonathan has sent the names of 12 ministerial nominees to the Senate for confirmation. Two of the nominees are from Kano State.

The president equally sent the names of new Service Chiefs to the upper legislative chamber for ratification.

The ministerial nominees, after confirmation, are expected to be deployed to fill the vacant positions created following the sacking of 11 ministers by the president late last year and the resignation of Dr Mohammed Pate, as Minister of State for Health last year.

The nominees are former National Security Adviser, NSA, Gen. Aliyu Gusau (rtd), from Zamfara State, former governor of Adamawa State, Mr Boni Haruna, representing his state, Present Nigerian Ambassador to China, Aminu Wali, to represent Kano State and former Nigerian Ambassador to Ghana, Musiliu Obanikoro, to represent Lagos State in the federal cabinet.

Others are Hon. Mohammed Wakil from Borno State, Alhaji Abduljelili Oyewale Adesiyan from Osun State,Hajia Jamilla Salik, also from Kano State, Mrs Akon Etim Eyakenyi, from Akwa Ibom State, Mrs Lawrencia Labaran Mallam, from Kaduna State, Dr T.W. Dagogo, from Rivers State, Asabe Asmau Ahmed from Niger State and Dr Khaliru Haruna from Sokoto State.

President Jonathan, in a letter dated 20th January, 2014 but received by the Senate President on the 21 January, 2014, asked the Senate to give expeditious consideration to the confirmation.

He explained that his action was in accordance with Section 147 (2) of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999, as amended.
In the same vein, the president sent the names of newly appointed Service Chiefs to the Senate for confirmation.

They are Air Marshal Alex Badeh, Chief of Defence Staff, Major General Kenneth Minimah, Chief of Army Staff, Rear Admiral Usman Jibrin, Chief of Naval Staff and Air Vice Marshal Adeola Amosu, Chief of Air Staff.

In a letter tagged: “Appointment of the Chief of Defence Staff and Service Chiefs for the Armed Forces of the Federal Republic of Nigeria”, which was read on the Senate plenary by the Senate President, David Mark, President Jonathan explained that his action was in compliance with the provisions of Section 18 (1) of the Armed Forces Act, Cap.A.20 Laws of the Federation of Nigeria, 2004.

    Print       Email