Keshi invites Iheanacho, Alampas, Awoniyi for CHAN

on   /   in Sports 7:44 pm   /   Comments

Abuja – Stephen Keshi, the Super Eagles Head Coach, on Thursday invited 30 players to camp in preparation for the Championship of African Nations (CHAN).

The championship is scheduled to take place in South Africa between Jan. 11 and Feb. 1.

A statement issued by the NFA said six players were put on standby in the event that any player on the main list sustains an injury.



The standby players include the duo of Happy Okuoka and Obinna Nwachukwu of Heartland FC; Bello Ikeleji, who plays for Insurance FC of Benin and Izuegbu Abonima of Enugu Rangers.

Paul Ikenna of Sunshine Stars and John Austin Igenepo complete the number.

“We are going to CHAN for the first time, but we want to be the best at our very first outing,’’ the statement quoted Keshi as quoted as saying. Salvador, Brazil.

Nigeria would play host South Africa, Mali and Mozambique in Group A at the tournament, designed for players who play in the domestic leagues of their country.

According to the statement, regular Super Eagles Team B faces dominate the list with the inclusion of world-conquering Golden Eaglets’ trio of goalkeeper Sunday Alampasu, midfielder Kelechi Iheanacho and forward Taiwo Awoniyi.

First choice goalkeeper and skipper Chigozie Agbim and ace midfielder Sunday Mba top the list of regulars, with Shooting Stars’ forward Gbolahan Salami handed a recall.

There are four goalkeepers, nine defenders, eight mid-fielders and nine strikers and all are expected to report to the Bolton White Apartments in Abuja on Monday, Dec. 9.

The invited goalkeepers are Chigozie Agbim of Enugu Rangers; Daniel Akpeyi of Heartland FC; Isah Danladi of Sharks FC and Sunday Alampasu who plays for Abuja Football College.

The defenders are Azubuike Egwuekwe (Warri Wolves); Ebenezer Odunlami (Sunshine Stars); Benjamin Francis (Heartland FC); Solomon Kwambe (Sunshine Stars); Bright Esieme (Enyimba FC); Yinka Adedeji (Sharks FC) and Reuben Ogbonnaya (El-Kanemi Warriors).

Other defenders include Umar Zango (Kano Pillars) and Chibuzor Madu (Enugu Rangers).

Midfielders are Sunday Mba (Enugu Rangers); Etebo Oghenekaro (Warri Wolves); Rabiu Ali (Kano Pillars); Ogonna Osuchukwu (Enugu Rangers); Achiv Douglas (Lobi Stars); Kelechi Iheanacho (Taye Academy, Owerri); Mohammed Ajia (Bayelsa United) and Christian Pyagbara (Sharks FC)

Forwards include Muhammad Gambo (Kano Pillars); Ifeanyi Edeh (Enyimba FC); Barnabas Imenger (Lobi Stars); Ejike Uzoenyi (Enugu Rangers); Ezekiel Mbah (Akwa United); Obiozor Christian (Enugu Rangers); Abubakar Aliyu (Nasarawa United)

Gbolahan Salami (3SC) and Taiwo Awoniyi (Imperial Academy, Ilorin) complete the full list of invited forwards. (NAN)

    Print       Email