Breaking News

    Flavour, Olamide, D’banj, others race for NMVA 2013

    By Charles Mgbolu

    Organisers of this year’s Nigeria Music Video Awards 2013 have released their hot white list of nominees for the awards with Flavour, Olamide, Sound Sultan, D’banj and Chidinma going head to head for the most prestigious award of the night … Video of the Year.

    Many videos on the list were splashed to life by celebrity film maker Clarence Peters but he would have to race against Squareball, Sesan, Mattmax who have all also been nominated in the Best Director Category.

    The awards will hold on November 15, 2013 at the Shell Hall of the Muson Centre, Lagos.

    See the full list of nominees…

    Video of the Year
    Flavour – Ada Ada
    Olamide – Duro Soke
    Sound Sultan – Natural Something
    D’Banj – Don’t Tell Me Nonsense
    Chidima – Emi Ni Baller

    Best Afro Hip Hop Video
    Ill Bliss – I Am Sorry
    Splash – Church Agbasa
    Olamide – Durosoke
    MI – Chairman
    Phyno – Man of the Year


    Best Hip Hop Video
    Eedris Abdulkareem – I Go Whooz You
    Pryse – Eleto
    Boogey – Sanctum
    Ice Prince – VIP
    Yung6ix – First Class

    Best Afro Pop Video
    D’banj – Don’t Tell Me Nonsense
    Sound Sultan – Natural Something
    Goldie – Miliki
    2face – Blood on the dance floor
    Alabai – Ogbanje

    Best Dance Hall/Reggae Video
    Davido – All of you
    Waje – I wish
    Patoranking – Alubarika
    Orezi – Rihana
    Vector – Follow Me

    Best Pop Extra Video
    Chidima – Emi Ni Baller
    Kcee – Limpopo
    Solidstar – Skibo
    Davido – Gobe
    Harrysong – Im In Love (Remix)

    Best Gospel Video
    Ada – Bobo Me
    Henrisoul – Blow My Mind
    Amaray – Oke Mgbidi
    Kefee – Celebrate
    Solomon Lange – Yabo

    Best R ‘n’ B Video
    Jennifer – Ifunanya
    Capital FEMI – Capital F.E.M.I
    Pelli – The One
    Nosa – Always Pray for You
    Banky W – Yes/No

    Best High Life Video
    Flavour – Ada Ada
    i-Mike – Adure
    Wizboy – Halima
    Dr. Victor Olaiya ft 2face – Baby Mi Da
    Inyanya – Jombolo


    Best Afro Beat Video
    Starboy – Caro
    Black Magic – Confam
    Henry Knight – Shako
    Burna Boy – Run My Race
    MGabriel – Eruku Lau Lau

    Best Contemporary Afro Music Video
    Xproject – Azuka
    Dammy Krane – Xteristics
    Sheyman – Paper
    Skales – Komole
    Jaywon – Catch Me If You Can

    Most popular Nigerian Music Video in Europe
    Dizzy – Jekin Jekin
    Tipsy – Tin Geh Geh
    Moe Logo – Pangolo
    Dola Billz – No Gocking
    Spice Vision – Today na Today

    Best Indigenous Concept
    Tillaman – Ori Owo
    MGabriel – Eruku Lau Lau
    Flavour – Ada Ada
    Shola Alyson – Ife

    Best use of animation
    DJ Sose – Obulu
    Ketchy Dons – Closer n Closer
    T-Sleek – Ma Wo mi

    Best use of costumes
    Flavour – Ada Ada
    Dipp – Balance for Me
    D’Prince – Goody Bag
    Tiwa Savage – Without My Heart
    May D – So Many Things

    Best use of Choreography
    Inyanya – Jombolo
    Timaya – Ekoloma Demba
    TIV – What’s The Matter
    Banky W – Yes/No
    D’banj – Don’t Tell Me Nonsense

    Best Producer
    EME Records
    Marvin Records
    Chocolate City
    Kennis Music

    Best Director
    Clarence Peters

    Most Promising Director
    Unlimited LA
    Matt Max
    Paul Gambit

    Best Editor
    Matt Max  for Don’t tell me Nonesense by D’banj
    Unlimited LA for Confam by Black Magic
    Sesan for Sexy Mama by Iyanya
    Clarence Peters for Durosoke by Olamide

    Best Cinematography
    Ajeh for Alubarika by Patoranking
    Squareball for Church Agbasa by Splash
    Matt Max for Don’t Tell Me Nonsense by D’banj
    Clarence Peters for Durosoke by Olamide
    Mr. Moe Musa for So many thinz by May D

    Best Use of Visual Effects
    Iyanya – Sexy Mama
    Sound Sultan – Natural Something
    Ice Prince – VIP
    Morell – Oxygen
    Danas – My Melody

    Best Video By A New Act
    Sean Tizzle – Shole
    Mystro – This Kain Love
    Charas – Gbege
    Sym19 – Fine Baby Girl
    Outrageous – Am In The Mood

    Best Soft Rock/Alternative Video
    Black Magic – Repete
    Dazzle Ra Amen – Chinekem
    Ese Peters – Omote
    Shola Allyson – Ife
    Timi Dakolo – Great Nation

    Best Music Video by a Minor
    Choco Girl – Ayo
    G Girl – Young Shall Grow
    Mya K – My DJ
    Ozzybosco – Tinini
    Whitney Wonder – Africa Unite


    Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.